ruth_jackson89

HOUSEH2T; the kitchen diner- WOOD PALACE

Ruth jackson
7 years ago

hi guys! just had offer accepted on a house that needs a lot done to it and I am going to post a few rooms to ask for help! I am new to all this and open to all suggestions. we are going to be tight on budget so affordable solutions are needed :)

So next up is the kitchen/diner which is one of the reason i loved this place. I cant afford much but what do you reckon, salvageable? I was thinking taking all the wood down from the kitchen side of things and just going classic subway tiling and trying to paint all the cabinets white and change fixtures? and then through to dining maybe leave all the wood on the window sides and just paint it white and the ceiling wood white? then remove all the wood from the side closet to kitchen, but do what there? more subway tiling? or is that weird? was also hoping to maybe ikea hack a breakfast nook on the left hand side instead of going for a table in the middle? thoughts?

Comments (36)

• Soraya
    7 years ago
    I would remove any wood on the ceiling and the walls. Agree with the previous comment that it might end up costing you more as you will need to have the walls skimmed. But I think it is worth it in the long term as it's quite a messy job and best to get it done before you start redecorating the rest of the house. The kitchen units are really nice. Just paint them. I'm a big fan of metro tiles so should work well. Good luck with the project!
  • AMB
    7 years ago
    Oh my you are brave taking on a wood palace!

Surely you either like the Swedish sauna look or you have actually bought the house for its potential? Therefore, go the whole way and rip it all out. I was in the same position as you with my kitchen and it was absolutely worth the extra time and money ripping out the wood cladding, it looked so much better and we gained more ceiling height.