charponnaise

Storage for high ceilings

charponnaise
7 years ago

Hello! I'm a newbie here, and a Londoner in the process of buying a flat. Yay! The rooms aren't big but the ceilings are 9.5ft high. Double yay! I have a lot of STUFF. Erk. And I care about it so don't want to chuck it out...

I need beautiful storage in the living room and bedroom, but I'm a first-time-buyer on a budget. I need ceiling high shelving in the living room, at different heights - perhaps something modular - for 12" records, books, dvds and other living room-y stuff. In the bedroom I need a system that will allow me to hang two wardrobes' worth of clothes, with drawers for foldable clothes and racks/shelves for bags and... er.. 70 pairs of shoes?! So not a tall order......

I saw the perfect living room thing in Made's London showroom - steel shelves that come in vertical pieces one or two bays wide.

But it turns out they're not for sale, their shopfitters made them for the showroom. I've contacted the shopfitters but heard nothing back. I keep seeing similar setups in furniture places around town (Habitat, Lombok etc) but nothing for sale! Ikea's Vittsjo shelves are the best for-sale option I've seen but not nearly tall enough. I want at least 7ft height - and ideally modular enough that I can omit some of the lower shelves and slot in a drop-leaf dining table.

So question one: does anyone know where I might go to buy or get something like this made, on a budget?