jazpatel1

Curtain crisis

Jas P
6 years ago
last modified: 6 years ago

Hi all, I need some advice please. I've just had curtains made for my patio doors but they haven't turned out as I expected - I want to cry!
I asked that the curtains be made such that they opened up completely and not cover any of the patio doors but this is not how it turned out. Part of the doors on each end is now covered up by the curtain as it can't pull back anymore.
There is blackout lining which is really adding bulk to the curtain and therefore there's lots of material. I don't want tie backs. Do I have any other options? Or do I have to start again?

Comments (39)

• mayfly182
    6 years ago

I'm sorry, that must be really horrible considering how much made to measure curtains cost. You should go back to the person/company who made them if possible and ask them for help.

I'm by no means an expert but I have had curtains with blackout lining, and the bulk was a bit of a problem for me too.

A couple of things which might help:

- That looks like standard header tape. That sort of tape encourages lots of tiny folds which maximises the problem. Changing the header tape is likely to be much cheaper than doing whole new curtains - maybe look at doing that?

- There's wall space either side of the curtains. Could you fit a longer curtain rail? I know longer curtain rails can be difficult to find / expensive but it may be an option. I think without extra space for the curtains you're going to have to choose between a decent lining and having the curtains pull right back.

Good luck!

• PRO
    julia
    6 years ago
    I also wanted curtains that didn't cover my bifold doors. I opted for a curtain pole from Laura Ashley with "passing" brackets and rings. It is designed for bay windows but it works great straight. My curtains sit nicely at the side of the doors when opened. It wasn't cheap but well worth it. Good luck
  • Related Discussions

Black sofa crisis

Q

Comments (1)