ericandleonie

Poorly Grass... what to do?

Gerty Werty
24 March, 2019

We had our garden seeded last October (just b4 it was too late) in hopes for a nice lawn in the spring!! Now spring is here, the grass is very sickly and thin. Will it just thicken up when the weather warms up? Or does it need some special treatment? or dare i say it redseeding? Our front garden has had 3 cuts already his year so thats why im slightly worried about this?

Comments (11)

• Victoria
    I’m not an expert by a very long stretch but I honestly think it’s looking fine and you just need to give it time.
  • forzaitalia

Give it time. If the weather is as dry where you are as it has been in the south, give it a good water each evening. It just looks a bit sparse and parched. Water is the lifeblood of all plants. :-)

• tamp75
    It looks like it’s lacking in nutrients a bit. Did the seed go onto good quality topsoil? You could top dress it with topsoil but that would be fairly costly for such a large area. The best option might just be to wait for a little while with your fingers crossed!
  • Gerty Werty
    Thanks for the comments. We had 12 lorry loads of top soil put in as the garden was originally quite up and down! But yes to me it looks like its lacking in nutrients!! I guess we will wait and see how it goes as the weather gets warmer. Will it be too early to feed it in a couple of months? if not, what os the best product to use?
  • PRO
    Logi Engineering LTD

Hi there

we have bigger garden and have to choose professional fertilisers ( we use Pitchcare check their website ) as they are more efficient and cheaper. But first of all you need to check Ph of your soil and then choose right staff. I plan to put fertiliser in 1-2 weeks already.

• Daisy England