jaydigs

Help - Sleepers, Patios, Walkways, Turf or all 4

Jason Digs
2 years ago
last modified: 2 years ago

Dear Houzz Community,

You have been absolutely awesome with some of the other design questions I have posted in the past. I was wondering if I could now lean on your support to get some guidance around the best layout to go for my rear garden please.

These are two similar but slightly different images taken from my Kitchen window. I was curious as to how do the layout? FYI, the sun usually shines down in the area at the back of the garden (opposite end of where I was standing when taking these photos).

My initial thoughts were something like this but to tell you the truth, I have zero knowledge when it comes to gardening. The following is based on me standing from where the photos were taken:

• Non-slip porcelain tiles at the back of the garden (3M from the back fence) for a patio area
  • Non-slip porcelain tiles at the back of the house (where I am standing) (1M from house wall)
  • Non-slip porcelain tiles to create a left and right walk-way
  • Sleepers going around the gardens left, back and right fence (horse-shoe shape)
  • Astro-turf or turf in the middle

I was thinking of going for a grey/slate coloured tile to match the drive way at the front and the white render of the house. This would give the front-to-back a natural flow? If it helps, I can provide an image of the front drive-way although I have a massive thread on here that has images of it already.

The kitchen door (exit to the garden) is at the right of where I am standing when taking the pictures. Its basically on the right side of the house wall. When you walk out, you are literally stood to the right side of the garden where the neighbours fence is.

The fence to the left was only installed yesterday. It will turn the same colour as the one at the back as the sun tans its.