anthony_driscoll

Victorian style in a non victorian house?

Anthony Driscoll
4 years ago

hi all

Currently starting another house project after we recently moved and are now loving the idea of going for a victorian style decor rather than the contemporary we did on our last house.

My only worry is that we only have 2.4m ceilings unlike the 3m you usually see in a victorian town house. Will it look odd if we followed this through?

Found some lovely fireplaces and coving ideas but before we purchase would like to see examples in a standard 2.4m ceiling house.

Please ignore the cabling, I'm an electrician and currently rewiring the property.

Picture of our lounge currently.

Many thanks

Anthony

Comments (18)

• E D
    4 years ago

Some Victorian decorative items can look great, even in a modern house but to me architectural changes are a no no.

• Related Discussions

Victorian style Gas fire safety issue

Q

Comments (0)
    Just bought my first house - Victorian 2 up 2 down terrace. I knew that the front fireplace had been disconnected after failing a safety inspection by British Gas. Had a gas safe plumber round to have a look and he says the issue is the "flap" at the back which if closed could lead to carbon monoxide in the room. There's also an odd anomaly with the flue dipping down before it goes up. But I'm really confused because the same model of fireplace is being sold online (see photo) http://www.castironfires.com/ http://www.castfireplaces.co.uk/lytton-cast-iron-fireplace Anyone know of issues with this type of fire or what the problem might be?
    ...See More

Favourite Victorian-style tiles in Houzz hallways?

Q

Comments (4)